Aloe Vera

feuilles, aloès, feuille

L'aloe vera est une plante médicinale polyvalente originaire des zones désertiques. Avec ses feuilles épaisses et charnues, l'aloe vera rappelle un peu les cactus, mais c'est une espèce de lys, étroitement apparentée à l'affodil.

Dans sa patrie arabe, l'aloès est connu comme une plante médicinale depuis plus de 6 000 ans. En Europe centrale, il est utilisé à des fins de guérison depuis 1930 environ. Au début, elle était relativement peu connue de la plupart des habitants de ce pays, mais depuis le début du nouveau millénaire, l'utilisation de l'aloe vera est en plein essor et on la trouve dans de nombreux cosmétiques, aliments et produits de tous les jours.

Dans le cas de l'aloès et de ses produits, il faut distinguer entre le gel doux et la résine jaunâtre à action drastique. Le gel et la résine sont aussi différents dans leurs effets que s'il s'agissait de deux plantes médicinales différentes. Le gel qui est stocké dans les feuilles a divers effets curatifs, notamment sur la peau.

Description de la plante

Il existe environ 500 espèces différentes d'aloès, mais elles poussent toutes à l'origine dans des zones désertiques. Le nom "Aloe" vient de l'arabe et signifie "amer", car la couche située entre la paroi extérieure de la feuille et le gel a un goût amer.

A l'origine, l'aloès est également originaire d'Arabie. Mais entre-temps, il est cultivé dans de nombreuses régions sèches et chaudes, par exemple aux îles Canaries, dans la Méditerranée, en Inde, dans de grandes parties de l'Afrique, dans les Caraïbes, en Amérique centrale, en Amérique du Sud et en Australie. Elle y est cultivée comme plante ornementale et médicinale.

La plante n'a généralement pas de tige ou seulement une courte tige qui se développe à partir des restes de vieilles feuilles. Elle pousse avec jusqu'à 20 feuilles en rosette directement à partir du sol. Les feuilles peuvent mesurer jusqu'à 50 cm de long, sont épaisses et charnues et mesurent environ 6 cm de large. Les feuilles ont de petites épines sur le bord extérieur.

Dans des conditions favorables, après plusieurs années, la plante fait pousser une tige florale sur laquelle se développe une inflorescence jaune avec une rangée de fleurs étroites. Sur une inflorescence, on peut voir des bourgeons, des fleurs pleinement développées et des fleurs fanées en même temps. Elle fleurit progressivement de bas en haut. Les fleurs individuelles restent cependant relativement fermées jusqu'à ce qu'elles se fanent. L'apparence des fleurs montre aussi clairement l'affinité avec l'Affodil. Les fleurs de l'aloès rappellent à peine les lis.

Caractéristiques

Nom scientifique
Aloe vera.
Egalement : Aloe barbadensis, Aloe perfoliata, Aloe vulgaris, Aloe indica, Aloe chinensis.

Famille de plantes
Asphodelaceae.

Autres noms
Aloès chinois, aloès indien, aloès vrai, aloès de la Barbade, aloès brûlé, plante de premier secours.

Pièces végétales usagées
Le gel dans les feuilles et la résine de la sève jaune. Dans les produits finis, on utilise parfois la feuille entière. Dans ce cas, le produit contient également la résine (aloïne), qui est un puissant laxatif.

Ingrédients
Eau, acides aminés, minéraux, vitamines, enzymes, glycoprotéines, anthraquinone et dérivés d'anthracène, uniquement dans la résine de la feuille : Aloïne - un glycoside.

Période de récolte
Quand les feuilles sont assez grandes.

Propriétés médicinales

Utilisation principale : Peau.

Effets curatifs

Gel

            • Hydrater
            • Anti-inflammatoire
            • Apaiser
            • Adoucissement

Résine (Attention ! légèrement toxique !)

            • Laxatif
            • Digestif

Domaines d'application

 Gel > Extérieur

            • Acne
            • Burns
            • Eczéma
            • Blessures
            • Irritation de la peau
            • Piqûres d'insectes
            • Ulcères
            • Herpès
            • Itchy
            • Neurodermatite
            • Psoriasis
            • Abrasions
            • Coups de soleil
            • Peau impure
            • Gingivite

 Gel > En interne

            • Colite ulcéreuse
            • Diabète
            • Lipides sanguins élevés
            • Toux
            • L'intestin irritable
            • Estomac irritable
            • Brûlures d'estomac
            • Renforcement du système immunitaire

 Résine > En interne (Attention ! légèrement toxique !)

            • Constipation

Formes de préparation

Vous obtenez l'aloès le plus frais quand vous le faites pousser vous-même dans la maison. Dès que les feuilles sont assez grandes, vous pouvez les couper et utiliser le gel qu'elles contiennent.

Utilisations externes

Gel frais
Le gel frais peut simplement être étalé sur les zones de peau touchées. Le gel contient des principes actifs hydratants et a également un effet apaisant, légèrement antibactérien et anti-inflammatoire.

L'application externe du gel sur la peau est très agréable. Ce gel d'aloès peut être utilisé de nombreuses manières différentes. Comme le gel refroidit bien, il est particulièrement agréable pour les coups de soleil et les démangeaisons. Le gel d'aloès peut également être utilisé dans les cas de névrodermite et autres eczémas en raison de ses effets anti-démangeaisons et de cicatrisation des plaies. Le gel peut également avoir un effet apaisant sur les abrasions. Le léger effet antibactérien fait également du gel d'aloès un bon remède contre l'acné. L'effet curatif sur les brûlures mineures et les coups de soleil a également été prouvé par des études médicales.

De nombreux produits finis contiennent des quantités importantes de gel d'aloès. Ils peuvent donc être utilisés de la même manière que le gel frais, à condition qu'ils soient destinés à de telles applications. Cela concerne par exemple les crèmes ou les pommades pour l'application sur la peau. Un dentifrice à l'aloès ne sera bien sûr pas étalé sur une peau brûlée par le soleil, mais il est préférable de l'utiliser pour se brosser les dents en cas de gingivite.

De nombreux produits à base d'aloe vera ne contiennent que de faibles traces d'aloe. L'aloès est contenu dans ces produits principalement pour que les fabricants puissent faire de la publicité avec l'aloès sur l'emballage. Il n'est généralement pas possible de savoir exactement quelle quantité d'aloès se trouve dans un produit. Dans les listes d'ingrédients en petits caractères, vous trouverez des ingrédients en plus grande quantité mais plus en avance que des ingrédients en plus petite quantité. Cela vous permet d'estimer approximativement la quantité d'aloès contenue dans un produit.

Dans les produits cosmétiques d'usage quotidien, une petite quantité d'aloès ne pose pas de problème car une crème de jour n'est généralement pas un traitement curatif mais un soin de la peau. Une petite quantité d'aloès dans une telle crème renforce l'effet hydratant.

Utilisations internes

Gel frais
Pour appliquer le gel frais à l'intérieur, retirez le gel des feuilles après que le jus jaune se soit complètement écoulé (voir la récolte). Vous pouvez simplement manger le gel. Vous pouvez également le mélanger à du yaourt, le manger dans du muesli ou préparer une salade de fruits avec des fruits. Votre imagination n'a presque pas de limites. Cependant, vous ne devez pas faire cuire le gel, car les précieux ingrédients actifs changent alors.

L'usage interne du gel a surtout un effet de soulagement des irritations, ce qui le rend approprié pour les brûlures d'estomac, l'estomac irritable ou l'intestin irritable. Certaines personnes utilisent même le gel d'aloès en cas de colite ulcéreuse. On dit également que l'usage interne du gel a un effet immunostimulant, mais cela n'a pas été prouvé par des études médicales.

On dit que le gel d'aloès, s'il est pris régulièrement, fait baisser le taux de sucre dans le sang et aide donc à lutter contre le diabète. On dit également qu'il réduit les taux élevés de lipides dans le sang, tels que le cholestérol et les triglycérides. En outre, le "bon" cholestérol appelé HDL devrait être augmenté.

Produits finis
La plupart des produits à l'aloe vera sur le marché aujourd'hui ne contiennent que le gel et non la résine très irritante. Ces produits sont généralement doux, du moins en ce qui concerne la teneur en aloès.

Selon le produit, vous pouvez le manger simplement pour le plaisir ou dans l'espoir de renforcer le système immunitaire, de faire baisser le taux de sucre dans le sang et d'améliorer le taux de lipides dans le sang. Cependant, pour la plupart des produits à base d'aloès à usage interne, ces effets sont plutôt mineurs. Il faut être prudent lorsqu'on dit qu'un produit à base d'aloès aide à lutter contre la constipation. Il peut alors contenir plus ou moins de résine agressive.

Résine
Le jus jaune de l'aloès peut être épaissi en une résine jusqu'à ce qu'il se transforme finalement en une poudre jaune. Cette substance résineuse contient l'aloïne glycoside. L'aloïne a un fort effet irritant, qui est utilisé médicalement contre la constipation.

L'aloïne augmente les mouvements intestinaux et entrave la récupération de l'eau dans le gros intestin. Par conséquent, la pulpe alimentaire se déplace plus rapidement dans l'intestin et reste plus fluide. Ainsi, la constipation peut être soulagée.

Pendant longtemps, les laxatifs fabriqués à partir de la résine (latex) de l'aloès ont donc été des laxatifs populaires. Mais entre-temps, l'effet de la résine d'aloès est considéré comme trop drastique. En outre, on soupçonne qu'elle a des effets cancérigènes, ce qui n'est pas surprenant dans le cas d'une substance irritante.

Attention !
La résine d'aloès ne doit jamais être utilisée pendant la grossesse, car la substance active aloïne peut provoquer des contractions prématurées. Une fausse couche peut également se produire.

Histoire

À partir de son lieu d'origine en Arabie, l'aloe vera s'est progressivement répandu dans d'autres régions sèches et s'est fait connaître en Europe. L'aloès n'arrivait normalement pas en Europe sous forme de plante fraîche, mais sous forme de granulés épaissis, qui contenaient généralement aussi la belle résine d'aloès. C'est pourquoi l'aloe était principalement connu à l'époque comme un laxatif.

On dit que Christophe Colomb aurait pris de l'aloès frais en pot lors de ses voyages afin d'avoir un remède à portée de main. Les conquistadors espagnols ont finalement apporté l'aloès en Amérique centrale et du Sud, où la plante a été facilement acceptée et utilisée par les habitants locaux.

Au XXe siècle, l'aloès était utilisé comme remède pour les brûlures, y compris pour le traitement des dommages causés par les radiations. Depuis le début du XXIe siècle, l'aloe vera a connu un essor marqué.

Conseils de culture

Vous pouvez faire pousser l'aloès chez vous dans un pot. L'aloe vera a besoin d'un sol sableux, bien drainé, car c'est une plante du désert. L'aloe vera a besoin d'ombre pour pousser dans un pot, il est donc parfaitement adapté à la culture en intérieur.

Lorsque les feuilles sont assez grandes (pour les plantes de plus de 2 ans), on peut les couper si nécessaire. Cependant, il faut toujours laisser au moins 12 feuilles en place pour que la plante puisse bien se développer. Une plante peut alors pousser jusqu'à 10 ans.

Conseils pour la collecte

Dès que les feuilles d'une plante d'aloès sont assez grandes, vous pouvez les couper une par une et utiliser le gel qu'elles contiennent. La plante est optimale si elle a au moins douze feuilles avant que vous ne commenciez à les couper. Il est préférable de ne couper qu'une seule des feuilles inférieures à la fois et de l'utiliser fraîche. Laissez le reste de la plante pousser jusqu'à ce qu'une feuille ait repoussé et que vous puissiez à nouveau récolter l'une des feuilles inférieures.

Immédiatement après avoir coupé les feuilles épaisses, laissez le jus jaune s'écouler. Il contient la résine avec la substance active fortement irritante aloïne. En raison de son effet irritant, cette substance n'est pas adaptée à un usage domestique. Lorsque le jus jaune s'est écoulé, coupez autant de feuilles que nécessaire pour l'application en cours. La feuille restante peut être conservée dans un sac en plastique au réfrigérateur pendant quelques jours. Le morceau de feuille destiné à l'usage courant peut être coupé.

Pour un usage externe, le côté gel peut être appliqué directement sur les zones de peau à traiter. Pour un usage interne, le gel peut être retiré avec précaution à l'aide d'un couteau. Il peut ensuite être consommé ou mélangé à du yaourt, par exemple.

Conserver le gel frais en le séchant ou en l'extrayant dans de l'alcool n'a généralement pas de sens car l'effet humide le plus important du gel est alors perdu.

 

Synonymes :
Lu Hui
Aloe Vera (Wikipedia)

Aloe vera
Aloe vera flower inset.png
Plant with flower detail inset
Scientific classification edit
Kingdom:Plantae
Clade:Tracheophytes
Clade:Angiosperms
Clade:Monocots
Order:Asparagales
Family:Asphodelaceae
Subfamily:Asphodeloideae
Genus:Aloe
Species:
A. vera
Binomial name
Aloe vera
Synonyms
  • Aloe barbadensis Mill.
  • Aloe barbadensis var. chinensis Haw.
  • Aloe chinensis (Haw.) Baker
  • Aloe elongata Murray
  • Aloe flava Pers.
  • Aloe indica Royle
  • Aloe lanzae Tod.
  • Aloe maculata Forssk. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe perfoliata var. vera L.
  • Aloe rubescens DC.
  • Aloe variegata Forssk. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe vera Mill. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe vera var. chinensis (Haw.) A. Berger
  • Aloe vera var. lanzae Baker
  • Aloe vera var. littoralis J.Koenig ex Baker
  • Aloe vulgaris Lam.

Aloe vera (/ˈæl/ or /ˈæl/) is a succulent plant species of the genus Aloe. The name comes from two root words: "aloeh" is an Arabic word meaning bitter, and "vera" is Latin for "truth."

An evergreen perennial, it originates from the Arabian Peninsula, but grows wild in tropical, semi-tropical, and arid climates around the world. It is cultivated for agricultural and medicinal uses. The species is also used for decorative purposes and grows successfully indoors as a potted plant.

It is found in many consumer products including beverages, skin lotion, cosmetics, ointments or in the form of gel for minor burns and sunburns. There is little clinical evidence for the effectiveness or safety of Aloe vera extract as a cosmetic or medicine.

Aloe Vera (Wiktionary)

English

Alternative forms

  • Aloe Vera
  • aloë vera (archaic)

Pronunciation

  • (UK) IPA(key): /əˌləʊ.i ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /əˌləʊ.i ˈvɪə.ɹə/, /ˌæ.ləʊ ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /ˌæ.ləʊ ˈvɪə.ɹə/
  • (US) IPA(key): /ˈæ.loʊ ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /ˌæ.loʊ ˈvɪ.ɹə/

Noun

aloe vera (countable and uncountable, plural aloe veras)

  1. A plant of the species Aloe vera, grown as an ornamental, thought to have medicinal value; an extract, often a gel, made from the plant.
    • 2003, Patricia Bragg, Paul C Bragg, Apple Cider Vinegar Miracle Health System, page 22,
      Another excellent cleanser and toner is aloe gel or
...
« Retour à l'index du glossaire
Article précédentAil sauvage
Article suivantLe Petit Galangal

Aloe Vera

leaves, aloe, leaf

Aloe vera is a versatile medicinal plant that is native to desert areas. With its thick, fleshy leaves, aloe vera reminds us a little of cacti, but it is a lily species, closely related to the affodil.

In its Arabic homeland, aloe has been known as a medicinal plant for over 6,000 years. In Central Europe it has been used for healing purposes since about 1930. Initially it was relatively unknown to most people in this country, but since the beginning of the new millennium the use of aloe vera has been booming and it can be found in numerous cosmetics, foods and everyday products.

In the case of aloe and its products, a distinction must be made as to whether the gentle gel or the drastically acting, yellowish resin was used. Gel and resin are as different in their effects as if they were two different medicinal plants. The gel that is stored in the leaves has various healing effects, especially on the skin.

Plant description

There are about 500 different species of Aloe, but they all originally grow in desert-like areas. The name “Aloe” comes from Arabic and means “bitter”, because the layer between the outer wall of the leaf and the gel tastes bitter.

Originally the Aloe is also native to Arabia. In the meantime, however, it is cultivated in many dry, warm regions, for example on the Canary Islands, the Mediterranean, India, large parts of Africa, the Caribbean, Central America, South America and Australia. It is cultivated there as an ornamental and medicinal plant.

The plant usually has no stem or only a short stem that develops from the remains of old leaves. It grows with up to 20 leaves rosette-like directly from the ground. The leaves grow up to 50 cm long, are thick and fleshy and about 6 cm wide. The leaves have small spines on the outer edge.

Under favourable conditions, after several years, the plant sprouts a flower stem on which a yellow inflorescence develops with a row of narrow flowers. On one inflorescence you can see buds, fully developed flowers and withered flowers at the same time. It blooms gradually from bottom to top. The individual flowers, however, remain relatively closed until they fade. The appearance of the flowers also clearly shows the affinity to the Affodil. The flowers of the aloe hardly remind of lilies.

Characteristics

Scientific name
Aloe vera.
Also: Aloe barbadensis, Aloe perfoliata, Aloe vulgaris, Aloe indica, Aloe chinensis.

Plant family
Asphodelaceae.

Other names
Chinese Aloe, Indian Aloe, True Aloe, Barbados Aloe, Burn Aloe, First Aid Plant.

Used plant parts
The gel in the leaves & the resin from the yellow sap. In finished products sometimes the whole leaf is used. In this case the product also contains the resin (aloin), which is a strong laxative.

Ingredients
Water, amino acids, minerals, vitamins, enzymes, glycoproteins, anthraquinone and anthracene derivatives, only in the leaf resin: Aloin – a glycoside.

Harvest period
When the leaves are big enough.

Medicinal properties

Main use: Skin.

Healing effects

Gel

            • Moisturizing
            • Anti-inflammatory
            • Soothing
            • Softening

Resin (Attention! slightly toxic!)

            • Laxative
            • Digestive

Areas of application

 Gel > Externally

            • Acne
            • Burns
            • Eczema
            • Wounds
            • Skin irritation
            • Insect bites
            • Ulcers
            • Herpes
            • Itchy
            • Neurodermatitis
            • Psoriasis
            • Abrasions
            • Sunburn
            • Unclean skin
            • Gingivitis

 Gel > Internally

            • Ulcerative colitis
            • Diabetes
            • Elevated blood lipids
            • Cough
            • Irritable bowel
            • Irritable stomach
            • Heartburn
            • Strengthening of the immune system

 Resin > Internally (Attention! slightly toxic!)

            • Constipation

Forms of preparation

You get the freshest aloe when you grow it yourself in the house. As soon as the leaves are big enough, you can cut them off and use the gel contained in them.

External uses

Fresh gel
The fresh gel can simply be spread on the affected skin areas. The gel contains moisturising active ingredients and also has a soothing, slightly antibacterial and anti-inflammatory effect.

The external application of the gel on the skin is very pleasant. This aloe gel can be used in many different ways. As the gel cools well, it is especially pleasant for things like sunburn and itching. Aloe gel can also be used in cases of neurodermatitis and other eczema because of its anti-itching and wound healing effects. The gel can also have a soothing effect on abrasions. The light antibacterial effect also makes the Aloe gel a good remedy for acne. The healing effect on minor burns and sunburn has also been substantiated by medical studies.

A lot of finished products contain significant amounts of the aloe gel. They can therefore be used in a similar way to the fresh gel, provided they are intended for such applications. This concerns for example creams or ointments for the application on the skin. An aloe toothpaste will of course not be spread on sunburned skin, but is better used for brushing teeth in case of gingivitis.

Many aloe vera products contain only small traces of aloe. Aloe is contained in these products mainly so that manufacturers can advertise with aloe on the packaging. It is usually not possible to find out exactly how much aloe is in a product. In the small print lists of ingredients you will find ingredients in larger quantities but further ahead than ingredients in smaller quantities. This allows you to estimate approximately how much aloe is contained in a product.

In cosmetic products for everyday use, a small amount of aloe is not a problem because a day cream is usually not a healing treatment but skin care. A little bit of aloe in such a cream enhances the moisturizing effect.

Internal uses

Fresh gel
To apply the fresh gel internally, remove the gel from the leaves after the yellow juice has completely drained off (see harvesting). You can simply eat the gel. Alternatively you can stir it into yoghurt, eat it in muesli or make a fruit salad together with fruit. There are almost no limits to your imagination. However, you should not cook the gel, because then the valuable active ingredients change.

The internal use of the gel has a primarily irritation-relieving effect, making it suitable for heartburn, irritable stomach or irritable bowel. Some people even use aloe gel for ulcerative colitis. The internal use of the gel is also said to have an immuno stimulating effect, but this has not been proven by medical studies.

Aloe gel, if taken regularly, is said to lower blood sugar levels and therefore help with diabetes. It is also said to lower elevated blood lipid levels such as elevated cholesterol and triglycerides. Furthermore, the “good” cholesterol called HDL should be increased.

Finished products
Most aloe vera products on the market today only contain the gel and not the highly irritating resin. Such products are generally mild, at least as far as the aloe content is concerned.

Depending on the product, you can simply eat it for pleasure or in the hope of strengthening the immune system, lowering blood sugar levels and improving blood lipid levels. With most aloe products for internal use, however, these effects are rather minor. One should be careful when an aloe product is said to help against constipation. It may then contain more or less of the aggressive resin.

Resin
The yellow juice of the aloe can be thickened to a resin until it finally turns into a yellow powder. This resinous substance contains the glycoside aloin. Aloin has a strong irritant effect, which is used medically against constipation.

The aloin increases intestinal movements and hinders the recovery of water in the large intestine. Therefore the food pulp moves faster through the intestine and remains more fluid. Thus constipation can be alleviated.

For a long time, laxatives made from the resin (latex) of the aloe were therefore popular laxatives. But in the meantime the effect of the aloe resin is considered too drastic. In addition, it is suspected to have cancer-promoting effects, which is not surprising in the case of an irritant substance.

Attention!
The aloe resin should never be used during pregnancy, because the active substance aloin can cause premature contractions. A miscarriage can also occur.

History

Starting from its original home in Arabia, aloe vera gradually spread to other dry areas and became known in Europe. Aloe did not normally come to Europe as a fresh plant, but as thickened granules, which usually also contained the lovely aloe resin. Therefore, aloe was mainly known as a laxative at that time.

Columbus is said to have taken fresh aloe in pots on his travels in order to have a remedy at hand. The Spanish conquistadors eventually brought the aloe to Central and South America, where the plant was readily accepted and used by the local inhabitants.

In the twentieth century, aloe was used as a remedy for burns, including the treatment of damage caused by radiation. From the beginning of the 21st century, aloe vera has experienced a marked boom.

Cultivation tips

You can grow the aloe quite well at home in a pot. Aloe vera needs sandy soil, which is well drained, because it is a desert plant. Growing in a pot, the Aloe needs shade, so it is perfectly suitable for growing indoors.

When the leaves are big enough (for plants over 2 years old), they can be cut off if necessary. However, at least 12 leaves should always be left standing so that the plant can develop well. A plant can then grow up to 10 years old.

Collection Tips

As soon as the leaves of an aloe plant are large enough, you can cut them off one by one and use the gel contained in them. It is optimal for the plant if it has at least twelve leaves before you start cutting off leaves. It is best to cut off only one of the lower leaves at a time and use it fresh. Let the rest of the plant grow until one leaf has grown back and you can harvest one of the lower leaves again.

Immediately after cutting off the thick leaves, let the yellow juice run out. It contains the resin with the strongly irritating active substance aloin. Because of its irritating effect, this substance is not suitable for domestic use. When the yellow juice has run off, cut off as much of the leaf as is needed for the current application. The remaining leaf can be kept in a plastic bag in the refrigerator for a few days. The piece of leaf for the current use can be cut open.

For external use, the gel side can be applied directly to the areas of skin to be treated. For internal use, the gel can be carefully removed with a knife. It can then be eaten or stirred into yoghurt, for example.

Preserving the fresh gel by drying it or extracting it in alcohol usually does not make sense because the most important moist effect of the gel is then lost.

 

Synonyms:
Lu Hui
Aloe Vera (Wikipedia)

Aloe vera
Aloe vera flower inset.png
Plant with flower detail inset
Scientific classification edit
Kingdom:Plantae
Clade:Tracheophytes
Clade:Angiosperms
Clade:Monocots
Order:Asparagales
Family:Asphodelaceae
Subfamily:Asphodeloideae
Genus:Aloe
Species:
A. vera
Binomial name
Aloe vera
Synonyms
  • Aloe barbadensis Mill.
  • Aloe barbadensis var. chinensis Haw.
  • Aloe chinensis (Haw.) Baker
  • Aloe elongata Murray
  • Aloe flava Pers.
  • Aloe indica Royle
  • Aloe lanzae Tod.
  • Aloe maculata Forssk. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe perfoliata var. vera L.
  • Aloe rubescens DC.
  • Aloe variegata Forssk. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe vera Mill. (illegitimate)
  • Aloe vera var. chinensis (Haw.) A. Berger
  • Aloe vera var. lanzae Baker
  • Aloe vera var. littoralis J.Koenig ex Baker
  • Aloe vulgaris Lam.

Aloe vera (/ˈæl/ or /ˈæl/) is a succulent plant species of the genus Aloe. The name comes from two root words: "aloeh" is an Arabic word meaning bitter, and "vera" is Latin for "truth."

An evergreen perennial, it originates from the Arabian Peninsula, but grows wild in tropical, semi-tropical, and arid climates around the world. It is cultivated for agricultural and medicinal uses. The species is also used for decorative purposes and grows successfully indoors as a potted plant.

It is found in many consumer products including beverages, skin lotion, cosmetics, ointments or in the form of gel for minor burns and sunburns. There is little clinical evidence for the effectiveness or safety of Aloe vera extract as a cosmetic or medicine.

Aloe Vera (Wiktionary)

English

Alternative forms

  • Aloe Vera
  • aloë vera (archaic)

Pronunciation

  • (UK) IPA(key): /əˌləʊ.i ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /əˌləʊ.i ˈvɪə.ɹə/, /ˌæ.ləʊ ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /ˌæ.ləʊ ˈvɪə.ɹə/
  • (US) IPA(key): /ˈæ.loʊ ˈvɛ.ɹə/, /ˌæ.loʊ ˈvɪ.ɹə/

Noun

aloe vera (countable and uncountable, plural aloe veras)

  1. A plant of the species Aloe vera, grown as an ornamental, thought to have medicinal value; an extract, often a gel, made from the plant.
    • 2003, Patricia Bragg, Paul C Bragg, Apple Cider Vinegar Miracle Health System, page 22,
      Another excellent cleanser and toner is aloe gel or
...
« Back to Glossary Index
Previous articleWild Garlic
Next articleLesser Galangal