Yogic Kriyas or Kriya Yoga is a part of the yoga practise. The Kriyas are a group of techniques that are utilized to cleanse and purify the body and the brain. The Kriyas are also referred to as Shuddhi-kriya, Saucha, Sauca, Shat-Kriyas and their practise opens the passages of the body, the brain and the heart. The Kriyas are a means to cleanse the internal body. Just like a normal person cleanses the outside areas of the body, it’s just as essential and of utmost importance that we also wash the inner portion of the system of all of the dirt and impurity that’s present and makes the body sterile. The Yogic Kriyas are six in number and collectively cleanse various internal organs of the body.

The Six Kriyas

There are six main cleansing procedures or Kriyas, namely, Neti Kriyas, Dhauti Kriyas, Vasti Kriya, Nauli Kriyas, Kapal Bhati and Tratak. The six procedures cleanse different delicate organs of the body and should always be learnt under the guidance of a specialist and afterwards can be practised in their own.

Neti Kriyas

The Neti Kriyas is a process of cleansing the nose and helps to clear the nasal passage. This Kriya can be accomplished through water that’s named Jalaneti and this water is taken in from one nostril and removed from another which cleans the whole nasal passage of dirt. The other forms of the Neti Kriya are Ksheera Kriya where rather than water lukewarm milk is utilized. Some individuals also use self urine or cow urine for doing the Kriya and this is named Swamutra or Gomutra Neti procedure. The Kriya is also done using oil or Ghee and also special cotton thread or rubber catheter. These Kriyas are known as Tail/Ghrit Neti Kriyas and Sutra/Rubber Neti Kriyas respectively. All the Kriyas may be used to cleanse the nasal process and with their use all problems associated with nose, ears, nose and throat could be prevented.

Dhauti Kriya

The next Kriya is known as the Dhauti Kriya and is a stomach cleansing procedure. The first Kriya in this is accomplished by using lukewarm saline water and is named Jala Vaman Dhauti Kriya. In this technique the individual performing needs to sit on the toes and must drink the water in series until the stomach is complete. After this he wants to move the gut for a couple of minutes by turning and moving it left and then he wants to bend backward and puke out the whole water that comes out with acids, gases and other wastes.

This cleanses the stomach and relieves all gastric troubles, constipation, acidity, indigestion, etc., the other sort of Dhauti Kriya is Vastra Dhauti Kriya that is done using muslin cloth. The cloth is first consumed and then pulled out and cures all cough and phlegm, gas, asthma, and other lung and gut disorders.

Vasti Kriya

The next Kriya is Vasti Kriya and can be accomplished by filling the enema pot with water. To practise this Kriya a rubber tube is fitted into the hole of the enema pot along with the other end of is inserted into the anus in bending position. The water enters the large intestine and can be flushed out with the impurities like gas, water, acids and other dirt particles and cures all constipation and indigestion issues and increases appetite. Precaution must be taken that enema is done on an empty stomach before breakfast.

Nauli Kriyas

The fourth Kriya is Nauli Kriya. This technique involves breathing tasks like breathing in, breathing out and holding the breath. One form of this Kriya is the Agnisar Kriya where while suiting on a mat one ought to inhale and exhale fully leaning forward. The stomach needs to be sucked in and kept for as long as you can. The kind of this Kriya is Uddiyan Kriya at which one wants to fully inhale and exhale using the mouth. After the Agnisar and The Uddiyan are practised well then you can execute the Nauli Kriya as the middle of the abdomen needs to be utilised as a pipe and it cures the diseases of the gut and liver and increases appetite.

Kapal Bhati

Another Kriya is also another kind of breathing exercises and is named Kapal bhati and Bhastrika Kriyas. Kapalbhati is a process of cleaning the mind and the central region of the head. It increases the capacity to think and increases self confidence and develops the memory. On the other hand Bhastrika is yet an additional breathing exercise and is thought to reduce gases, acidity and constipation.


The last of the six Kriyas is your Tratak Kriya that’s an eye activity and is done to avoid eye diseases, improve the sight, and develop concentration.


All the six Kriyas should be originally learnt by a specialist and then carefully and frequently practised. There’s a good deal of pollution in the atmosphere in contemporary times and the practise of those six Kriyas thus becomes very crucial so as to wash the internal system and heal diseases.